skip to content

SEL Endorsement Course 2: Characteristics and Impact of Adverse Childhood Experiences, Trauma, and Mental Illness on PK-12 Students

This course is the second of four courses of PDE's Social, Emotional, and Behavioral Wellness for PK-12 Students Endorsement. In this course participants will develop an understanding of the impact of adverse childhood experiences, trauma, and mental illness on learning and behavior for PK-12 students. Participants will recognize how these experiences and conditions can impact growth, development and learning of children and adolescents and the important role that educators and schools can play in reducing risk factors and increasing protective factors.

Participants registering for Graduate Credits will pay the course fee directly to the University. Please select the corresponding payment option when registering. In addition, participants interested in graduate credit, must register by Friday, March 11, 2022. More details will be emailed.

The virtual course starts on Monday, March 28, 2022 and extends to Sunday, May 15, 2022. In addition to the asynchronous assignments, participants will meet each Thursday for seven weeks for a 3-hour synchronous session with the course instructor, Jeffrey Walter, Ed.S, NCSP.

The days for the synchronous sessions are as follows:
Thurs., March 31, 2022, 4:30pm to 7:30pm
Thurs., April 7, 2022, 4:30pm to 7:30pm
Thurs., April 14, 2021, 4:30pm to 7:30pm
Thurs., April 21, 2022, 4:30pm to 7:30pm
Thurs., April 28, 2022, 4:30pm to 7:30pm
Thurs., May 5, 2022, 4:30pm to 7:30pm
Thurs., May 12, 2022, 4:30pm to 7:30pm

Event Details

Presenter: Jeffrey Walter
Location: Virtual Session

Event Dates

Friday 11 March 4:30 PM

Event Options

Act 48 Hours: 90
In County Cost: $600
Out of County Cost: $600
Graduate Credit: 3
In County Cost: $2625
Out of County Cost: $2625
Non Act 48 Hours: 90
In County Cost: $600
Out of County Cost: $600